PM to lead gov’t delegation to Taipei

SI delegation

Part of the Solomon Islands Government delegation at the 8th Australia-Solomon Islands Business Forum in Australia. Photo: PM Press Secretary.

PRIME Minister Hon Manasseh Sogavare is leading government delegation to Brisbane, Australia, tomorrow Thursday 21st July, enroute to the capital of the Republic of China on Taiwan, Taipei. 

The trip is made upon the invitation of the Taiwanese Government to give an opportunity for Prime Minister and Members of his Cabinet and Caucus to make a courtesy with the Taiwanese President, Tsai Ing-wen, following her election victory in January this year and also to visit various business establishments and cultural settings in and around Taipei.

Members of the Prime Minister’s delegation includes his wife, Madam Emmy Sogavare, Minister for Infrastructure Development, Hon Jimmy Lusibaea, Minister for Police, National Security and Correctional Services, Hon Stanley Sofu, Minister for Rural Development, Hon Jimson Tanangada, Minister for Lands, Housing and Survey, Hon Moses Garu, Minister for Agriculture and Livestock, Hon Duddley Kopu Deputy Chair of Government Caucus, Hon Namson Tran, Secretary to the Prime Minister, Mr Joseph Waleanisia, Private Secretary to the Prime Minister, Mr Ronald Fugui, Executive Personal Secretary to the Prime Minister, Mrs Suzie Wale, Press Secretary to the Prime Minister, Mrs Deli Oso, Foreign Affairs Protocol Officer, Mr Philip Moses and Close-Protection Police officers, Mr Wilson Maetala and Mr Tome Faisi.

On Friday 22nd July 2016, Prime Minister Sogavare and his delegation will attend the 8th Australia Solomon Islands Business Forum and Trade Expo in Brisbane at which the Prime Minister will join the Australian Minister for International Development and Pacific Islands, Hon Concetta Ferriavanti-Wells to give their keynote addresses, before travelling on to Taipei on the evening of the next day (Saturday 23rd July).

The Prime Minister and his delegation will arrive back in Honiara on Friday, 5th August 2016.

Source: PM Press Secretariat Office